Follow Your Heart: Anahata Chakra…….


Our body is a complex structure with layers of physical, astral, and spiritual bodies. The astral or energy body is a complex system governed by energy centers known as chakras. Anahata Chakra, also called Heart Chakra, is the fourth energy center out of the seven chakras. This chakra is an essential component of our overall well-being, as it helps us to balance our emotions, cultivate a deeper sense of self-awareness, and build meaningful relationships with others. 

What Is the Heart Chakra?

Among the seven primary energy centers that exist within the human body, the Heart Chakra – also known as Anahata – is the fourth and often considered the most crucial.

It is thebridge between the lower and upper chakras, balancing the material and spiritual worlds and facilitating our emotional and physical well-being. Pure love opens the fourth chakra, allowing us to receive and give love unconditionally. 

What Is the Meaning of Anahata Chakra? 

In Sanskrit, anahatameans “unstruck” and it describes the Heart Chakra perfectly. Balancing the energy of this chakra enables us to tap into the power of anahata and experience love in its purest form without any attachment or expectation. Therefore, we become “unstuck” from negative emotions, past traumas, and limiting beliefs that may be holding us back.

In this state of openness and vulnerability, we can develop deeper connections with ourselves and others, resulting in more fulfilling relationships and a greater sense of self. 

Where Is the Heart Chakra Located?

The chakras are the seven energy centers located along our spine in the subtle, astral body. The Heart Chakra islocated in the center of our chestclose to our physical heart.

What Is the Heart Chakra Responsible for?

This chakra is responsible for the storage and distribution of Prana prana, the life force energy that flows through our bodies, and formaintaining the air element in our system.

Located in the center of our chest, close to our physical heart, the Heart Chakra is closely connected with the heart, lungs, and the thymus gland, regulating the flow of energy in this area of the body. 

Characteristics of the Heart Chakra



Heart Chakra Symbol

Chakras are spheres in shape but generally they are drawn in artistic vision, which symbolizes their characteristics. The Heart Chakra symbol consists of:

  • 12 petals, which symbolize the 12 sounds that can come from the rotation of the chakra
  • Green color, the reflection of a combination of fire from below and sky from above
  • Two triangles representing the dualities of like and dislike
  • Seed mantra Yam in the center


The element of the fourth chakra is air or Vayu. We get air from the atmosphere when we breathe. If we don’t refresh the air element regularly, we feel fatigued, extremely low, and disconnected from our emotions and creative spirit.

The air element is alsoassociated with our emotional balance and sense of joy in life. So, when we refresh the element, our creativity and emotions are in harmony.


The air element surrounds the Heart Chakra. The element has no color of its own, but the blue color of the space element from above and the yellow of the fire element below reflect on it, creating the green color. This is why the Heart Chakra color is green.

The green color of the Anahata Chakra is associated with nature and tenderness. It also suggests stability and represents growth and renewed, healthy relationships.

Prana (Energy)

The prana associated with the Heart Chakra is ‘Prana’. Known as the prana of life, it is the energy that we receive from the air we breathe. This prana is essential for the healthy functioning of the heart, which is key to our ability to stay alive and thrive.

Primary Emotions

The Heart Chakra is associated with the primary emotions of unconditional love and attachment. When this energy center is in balance, we experience unconditional love in its purest form. This is the kind of love that we feel for every being equally and without any condition, regardless of our relationship with them or their species.

On the other hand, attachment is a conditional emotion. It is the act of giving someone or something more value than they actually have. We tend to get attached to people, things, and even certain habits, like the way we dress and the foods we eat.

When the Anahata Chakra is imbalanced, we may experience unhealthy attachment or detachment, and the opposite occurs when this energy center is open and aligned.

The energy of the Heart Chakra has a deep impact on our personality and well-being. A meaningful and happy life can only be achieved when our Anahata Chakra is balanced. Heart Chakra healing brings trust, joy, and peace, which helps us develop a stronger relationship with ourselves and others.

Written by Ram Jain and published on, 16th September 2020

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text